First Week and First Impressions

I’m currently sitting across from my roommate on the floor; we both smell like a combination of pee and sweat from the orphanage, but we can’t stop laughing and smiling as we talk about all the crazy things the little kids do. It’s only our second day and even though we’re exhausted, it’s been worth every minute.

Luckily, my roommate and I get along like sisters—we bonded instantly as she was the only one here when I first arrived. She’s from Germany but definitely knows more about American pop-culture than I do, which is insanely impressive. She was my guide the first week here, showing me the ups and downs of Galle. Now we have a total of five volunteers, all girls, all awesome.

I think about the past week and it blows my mind that it’s only been a week. Time is slower here, somehow. Each day is jam packed with activity, but we always find time to relax and chill, which seems to be a Sri Lankan pastime.

I’ll talk about the past week in a sort of timeline, using pictures, because there’s just no other way to do it.

First meal!

I arrived in Colombo and stayed the night at a host family near the airport. This was my first meal in Sri Lanka and it was quite delicious. The papaya was fresh and the tea… Oh, dear goodness, THE TEA. Mindblowing. Just, ugh, soo good.

Sri Lanka 004

This cutie hid underneath the table as I ate breakfast.

Sri Lanka 005

My green cocoon! I call it a jellyfish because when you lay on the bed and look up it totally resembles one. Mosquito nets are a life saver.

Sri Lanka 007

View from the porch of my host family’s house. YES THE OCEAN IS THAT CLOSE. Unfortunately the beach is completely rocky so you can’t swim there, but still.

Sri Lanka 036

Need a place to watch the sunset every day? Oh, just cross the street. Really.

Sri Lanka 033

Sitting across the street from my house and I happen to snap this picture of a father and his kids. Their faces are priceless, and I think they embody the spirit of Sri Lanka and its people.

Fishing boat!

The typical fishing boat in Galle, as seen on Jungle Beach.

Sri Lanka 064

Got to visit a turtle hatchery (:

Sri Lanka 083

Some neighborhood Sri Lankans playing cricket outside of the Dutch Fort.

Sri Lanka 106

Two women drawing their Batik designs which they sell in their shop in the picture below. Some designs, like the bigger, more intricate ones, can take months to complete. For every different color, certain parts of the design have to be covered in wax so that they can be dipped into the different dyes. The more colors involved, the more dipping needs to be done, making the process strenuous. I was amazed by the detail in all the drawings and had to buy myself a piece!

Sri Lanka 115

10711215_857549367623051_1143196201_n

You can TOTALLY bet I’m learning how to surf. I actually stood up most of the time and was switched to an 8’2″ board (still look like a midget) and I was pretty proud of myself (The smaller the board, the harder it is to balance). Safe to say I’m addicted and I may or may not be going again tomorrow (definitely going again tomorrow).

Sri Lanka 042

Question: Is it possible to not look epic when you’re a surfer caught in a sunset? Answer: Absolutely not.

 

Quick first impressions (as they came to mind throughout the week):

  • The air smells like a combination of… tropical breeze, humid wood, and sweat. Oh.
  • ACK THEY DRIVE ON THE LEFT SIDE, WHAT.
  • Not being able to speak the local language (Sinhala) suuuccckkkssss
  • Casually just fit your entire family onto a motorcycle, it’s fine
  • Lanes on the road are merely a suggestion as to where you should direct your vehicle.
  • cowscowscowscowscowscowsGOATcowscows WHERE ARE THE ELEPHANTS?
  • All the stray dogs look exactly the same…………
  • Omg we need tuk-tuks in America (aka three-wheeled taxis)
  • Everyone stares at me as I walk down the street. Everyone. Hi
  • They eat everything with their hands only. No utensils. Woah
  • This food is amaaazzziiinnnnggggg (my host family mother cooks and ugh, the food. There’s something about home cooked meals..)
  • TTTEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAA TEA TEA TEA
  • So much trash e v e r y w h e r e
  • Why is everyone just sitting around all the time?
  • Is this really my life?

I realize this blog post isn’t much and just bounces around from one idea to the next, but so much has happened in the past week that I found it difficult to focus my attention on one idea. So please excuse my dazed and sporadic post, I’m still trying to process everything.

Hope everyone is doing well (:

 

p.s.– A cool Sri Lankan fact: The name “Sinhalese” comes from the words “sinhaya” and “le” which mean “lion” and “blood,” respectively. So the Sri Lankan people who speak Sinhala are called “Sinhalese” which literally means they came from lion’s blood. That’s why they have a lion on their flag– pretty badass, right?

Sri Lankan flag

Sri Lankan flag (Jungle Beach)

 

4 thoughts on “First Week and First Impressions

  1. AH, I’m so jealous! I miss that place so so so so SOOO much. 😦
    I surprisingly never got around to the Galle Fort, haha. Oops. Have you been to Hikkaduwa yet?
    TOTALLY agree with you on the tea. They put magic in the tea, I’m sure of it.
    I’m so glad you’re enjoying Sri Lanka!

    (P.S There elephants are in Ambalangoda. It’s about 45 mins -1 hour away from Galle by tuk tuk or bus 🙂 )

Leave a comment